My Year in Books: 2019

This year, once again, I’ve managed to read a LOT of books. Here’s a summary.

Here’s an infographic that shows how much I read:

So, that’s an average of 277 pages a book, and I thought close to half of them were quite amazing. I read more than I did last year, too. Plus it’s been four years since I have been doing a year in review for books here on this blog! Back in 2015, I was super happy having read 37 books, which of course is not a small number by any account.

Coming back, I also think it’s pretty cool that I more than enjoyed most books I read this year:

Like last year (and every year since I’ve been tracking), I read more by women this year than men. Only 39 of the books were exclusively written by men, 7 were by co-written by men and women.

Once again, though, most books were written by authors from the US. Other than the US India, I read from ten other countries (most of them white though, so I’m not sure what I’m trying to say here).

I tried to continue reading a poetry collection a month this year, especially by women of colour. But failed miserably at that- could not find affordable books, unfortunately. I did read a few poetry books by women, though, which is a win. I read a lot of books across genres though. I realized I love a good retelling, so I’m going to keep an eye on those.

I also realized I’ve not read a lot of physical books. This year has all been about audiobooks and e-books. I will forever be greatful for technology such as these, because they’re so accessible. A lot of my reading happens on the go, or in places I can’t necessarily take physical books. I will ardently push for more such ways of reading. I’ve written about how I don’t hold romantic notions about the touch and feel of books. Physical book purists, fight me!

I have also read across years (Note: I read Shakespeare, so that’s what the first one is about). Again, most books were new. 23 of them were published in 2019!

I did four reading challenges this year. But I’m not going to bore anyone with the book lists, because honestly, who cares about that except my own nerdy ass?
But like last year, I read some books that I would have otherwise not have ever read if not fr these challenges. For example, I wouldn’t have discovered Colleen Hoover, who is now definitely in my radar! I wouldn’t have read a cozy mystery or a climate fiction!

I was also interested in figuring out when I read most books. Turns out I read a lot in the beginning of the year!


Next, a lot of the books I read were by People of Colour (which is again, not saying a lot as the number of white people on the planet is like 5%, and 50% of books by white people is not great, but alas). I read a few translated (to English) books, and reread a few old favourites.

So that’s been my reading year. I will definitely post a favourite list soon, because, for a change I’m excited about that.

How was your reading year?

Leave a comment