The best memory

You have the best memory,
You say, I’ve never met someone
With such an extraordinary memory.
I laugh it off, with a slight tug at my heart
I perfectly recall all your mum’s pet peeves
And the name of your dad’s first dog
I recall your sister’s favourite dolls,
And you say You have the best memory

I recall the way you made me feel
When I looked at you look my way
And that time when we danced together
At our friend’s birthday party
I recall the way you looked at her,
Your idea of a perfect woman
And the way it shattered my heart
And you say, you have the best memory

I recall the way you looked at me, disbelievingly
When I asked you about your cousin’s dramatic life
And his mother’s little concert on the hills
You said he’d been drinking, and
I spent the night reading up on alcoholism
And you said, You have the best memory
But don’t you see? Don’t you see why?
Don’t you see why I have the best goddamn memory?

About TheBlackWallflower

I'm just your average unique person. I love to read and write (no surprises there, eh?) and think a lot. I adore Rowling and think Harry Potter should be a religion. I also hate pink. I love fluff generally because it makes me feel intelligent and I love poetry because it makes me feel different. (yes, references.) I'm married to Sirius Black. So I sign myself as The Bitch alarmingly often. Oh, and I love Mr. Darcy. And Jo Longo. And Chandler Bing. And Sherlock. (Yes, I'm a fantard.) And in case you want to drop in a good, or a critical word, feel free to email me: theblackwallflower@gmail.com OR, follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack Enough with the babble. OkBye. View all posts by TheBlackWallflower

2 responses to “The best memory

Leave a Reply

