Fangirl.

 

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell.

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell.



There was buzz all over the internet about this one. Tumblr had chosen it as the first read for its book club. As somebody who practically lives on the internet, you can’t ignore something like that. So obviously I had to read it. And I thank each one of you cray internet peeps for this.

Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell is just another coming of age novel. But it’s different, because it’s hilarious and light hearted. And it’s about each one of us, because it’s about growing up and realizing our uniqueness. More than anything, it’s about trusting each of our abilities and trusting ourselves.

Fangirl is a story about Cather Avery (reasons why her name is Cather is explained heartbreakingly in the novel), who is, predictably enough, a fangirl. She writes Simon Snow fanfiction, (which is basically like Harry Potter in this canon) which has hundreds of thousands of hits and reviews. Her fans have accepted her headcanon- her fic Carry On, Simon, as the fanfiction, some claiming they love it more than the original books.

Fanfiction. We've all been there, haven't we?

Fanfiction. We’ve all been there, haven’t we?

She goes to college in Nebraska, as her twin, Wren, chooses. But to her shock, Wren decides for them that they wouldn’t stay in the same dorm room, in a desperate seeking of individual identity. This is a story of Cath trying to find herself- earlier a half of a pair of twins, into her own whole.

Cath is your average socially anxious teenager who has tens of thousands of online acquaintances. She is so anxious that she lives off peanut butter and protein bars for months, because she finds it anxiety-provoking to ask for directions  before her roommate intervenes and takes her to the dining room.

“In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google.)” 

Her only ray of hope in the whole ordeal that is college, is a Fiction-Writing class she enrolled in, and Nick, her writing friend with whom she writes twice a week. The novel’s best parts are where Cath explains the process of writing, why she writes, and how she fights this fear of writing fiction, that is non-fanfiction. You can’t help but empathize with her as she battles self-esteem issues, issues of identity, and finding herself.

On Writing. Best. :)

On Writing. Best. 🙂

However, the book won’t appeal to someone who doesn’t get online fandoms, fangirling, and people who are social

If you’re wondering if you should read this-
Read it if you love writing.
Read it if you’ve been a part of a fandom before
Read it if you have read fanfiction before.
Read it if you’ve written fanfiction.
Read if you’ve spent forever on the internet.
Read it if you’ve ignored what you were supposed to do because you were on the internet.
Read it if you are socially anxious.
Read it if you are a little too scared you might have some psychological disorder because you have tried, but remain socially awkward.
Read it if you are trying to find yourself.
Read it if you’re currently doubting yourself.

When in doubt...

When in doubt…

It is an amazing feeling to be gotten, isn’t it? This book is for all of us who sometimes feel invisible because nobody gets it.

Note: Not a review, just an opinion.
Sorry for ignoring. Exams, college, assignments and all that jazz. 😛

Rate, Comment and Subscribe. Reach out. 😀

 

Twitter: @WallflowerBlack

About TheBlackWallflower

I'm just your average unique person. I love to read and write (no surprises there, eh?) and think a lot. I adore Rowling and think Harry Potter should be a religion. I also hate pink. I love fluff generally because it makes me feel intelligent and I love poetry because it makes me feel different. (yes, references.) I'm married to Sirius Black. So I sign myself as The Bitch alarmingly often. Oh, and I love Mr. Darcy. And Jo Longo. And Chandler Bing. And Sherlock. (Yes, I'm a fantard.) And in case you want to drop in a good, or a critical word, feel free to email me: theblackwallflower@gmail.com OR, follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack Enough with the babble. OkBye. View all posts by TheBlackWallflower

3 responses to “Fangirl.

  • Cassie

    I loved this review because you told me things I didn’t already know about Rainbow Rowell and this book. I had no idea Tumblr chose it as the first book for their book club – that’s awesome. I was feeling like she wasn’t getting enough credit for all her awesome books, but now I feel much better. : )

    • TheBlackWallflower

      Thank you so much! 🙂
      I think it captures all the mixed emotions perfectly well, it’s a great read. I’ve always thought it was extremely popular. Is it not? I’d heard so much about it before I started.

      • Cassie

        I think it was more Eleanor and Park that I thought didn’t get the right credit and it didn’t until Fangirl came along and then people wanted to read her other books. It’s amazing too if you haven’t read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

