Red

You wake up one day

With those heavy bags under your eyes

The sun has already been up for a long time

It’s noon.

 

You’re walking alone at night

Guided by the North Star in your eye

It’s been twilight for a long time

And he’s your moon.

 

You tell him moon is for lunatics

And he tells you “It’s also for a soneteer

And for the love you induce.”

And you swoon.

 

When you walk in the darkness alone

It’s him who insists to volunteer

The sense of warmth in you that he induces

Is a boon.

 

And those days you go back

With your grey sweaters and socks

And he looks at you with his twinkling eyes

And wraps you up in a cocoon.

 

And those days he makes stupid jokes

And “You’re so hopeless,” you mock

Following his laughter that’s shining bright

Now you’re the loon.

 

And as you turn your shades from black to brown

To crimson, orange, amber and white

And he just listens to you in control

Like to your soul he’s attuned.

 

It’s warmth in laughter, 

And in your bicker, and your fight

Forever enchanting like the smell of soil

In monsoon

 

Now when you wake up one day

With those heavy bags under your eyes

He looks at you like the stars that shine

Till you are the lighter shade of grey.

 

Because it’s NaPoWriMo, another Poetry Challenge based on the theme colour.
The Colour Challenge: A week of original poetry based on seven colours.

Day 7: Red.

(I’m extending the challenge by trying to tell a story through the seven colours I choose.)

I can’t believe I just finished writing a poem series that tells a story! I know that the quality of the poems aren’t that great, even to my standards, but I believe that it did convey a story. (Right?)

……………………………………………………..

And I don’t believe that love leads to a happily ever after. I’m definitely rooted for career and social life, but I think this is the way I needed to end my series, because my protagonist, in the beginning feels completely lonely and the person she manages to end up in love with is a great companion to her in my head, which is why I ended here. 

Follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack

 

About TheBlackWallflower

I'm just your average unique person. I love to read and write (no surprises there, eh?) and think a lot. I adore Rowling and think Harry Potter should be a religion. I also hate pink. I love fluff generally because it makes me feel intelligent and I love poetry because it makes me feel different. (yes, references.) I'm married to Sirius Black. So I sign myself as The Bitch alarmingly often. Oh, and I love Mr. Darcy. And Jo Longo. And Chandler Bing. And Sherlock. (Yes, I'm a fantard.) And in case you want to drop in a good, or a critical word, feel free to email me: theblackwallflower@gmail.com OR, follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack Enough with the babble. OkBye. View all posts by TheBlackWallflower

Leave a Reply

