Somebody I want to know

A cold Sunday morning

At work, with the most adorable people

Giving up on my weekly sleep

That’s when I first saw you.

 

You offered help, when you saw me hopeless

Wearing a mark of Solidarity in

Ethnic Background. For reasons unfathomable

It mattered to me, at that ripe, young age.

 

I noticed you. You’ve altered me.

A stranger. Yet, somehow I knew you.

A quick hello here and there

To brighten up my otherwise dull day.

 

No, we weren’t friends. No, we never exchanged numbers.

But you made it a point to facebook inbox me on my birthday, every year.

Not a message otherwise, but a quick like on a photo,

Or a comment on my post to make me instantly fall for you again.

We were different, but you were my model.

To be like you, was the best I could be.

So I read the same books as you, watched the same movies, and watched your kind of TV, heard your favorite bands.

And guess what? I didn’t even have to try! I loved them every bit as you did!

 

But then you moved to another country, another continent.

Where you were having the time of your life.

And no, I wasn’t envious of the girls you were friends with, and might have dated.

I was jealous of them (just a little bit) because they got to know you better than I ever will, even though I knew of you longer.

I breathed the same air as you

And that made me incessantly happy.

 

 

 

I know I have ignored this blog for a while now. But trust me, I was too busy with school. Buuut, here I am, back again. And I will update more frequently, because, it’s Summer!

Twitter: @wallflowerblack

Tumblr: (Yes! Now I’m on Tumblr also.): http://wallflowerblack.tumblr.com/

About TheBlackWallflower

I'm just your average unique person. I love to read and write (no surprises there, eh?) and think a lot. I adore Rowling and think Harry Potter should be a religion. I also hate pink. I love fluff generally because it makes me feel intelligent and I love poetry because it makes me feel different. (yes, references.) I'm married to Sirius Black. So I sign myself as The Bitch alarmingly often. Oh, and I love Mr. Darcy. And Jo Longo. And Chandler Bing. And Sherlock. (Yes, I'm a fantard.) And in case you want to drop in a good, or a critical word, feel free to email me: theblackwallflower@gmail.com OR, follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack Enough with the babble. OkBye. View all posts by TheBlackWallflower

Leave a Reply

