Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing

The Daily Prompt.

If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WORK.

At this juncture of life,  most people ask me what I’m going to do after I graduate. I kind of feel like Benjamin Braddock from the first twenty-five minutes or so of The Graduate, at times when I do get asked this (about a thousand times a day by my mother, and probably 20 times a week by strangers, friends, and other assorted family members.) Yes, we all want to make a difference, and we all want to love our jobs while we are at it. But, hey, I’m not even 20. How am I supposed to know?

Image

My ultimate job, I had imagined would be working in HR. That went out of the window when I realized that I would never be able to ‘learn’ anything. (Bit ironic for someone who has to submit a Seminar paper in less than 24 hours but chooses to blog instead of working, isn’t it?) At the place I was interning, I loved everything- the people, the ambiance, the atmosphere, (the food), the way you could look out and see the posh architecture and the pretty lake- well, everything except the job. I hated how I could not apply my intuition of people which I have honed for sometime, and I hated how I could not just observe people and what they do. I hated how I
could not really connect with the people-who were at least seven to eight years older than me, and easily could talk of drinking, and vacations they could afford. I hated how I didn’t grow academically,and how the 9 to 5 job made me live a routine- basically doing the same thing over and over again, with different people. I hated how I couldn’t apply psychology, or literature to the job. (I could apply Economic jargon, but who cares?) So, well, basically, no HR.

Image

Basically, after my first internship, I know what I don’t want to do.A 9-5, socializing with management people, who talk of vacations and marriages and family. What I do want to do is talk to people about people: themselves, what makes them tick, their stories, their thoughts, and their emotions. What I do want to do is read stories-what made them, the history of a country, the history of a culture, the way the world shapes their experiences, why people behave the way they do.

Image

What I do want to do is get into academic research- psychology, generally; if not psycho-linguistics: combining my love for psychology, and language. I love how behaviour affects thoughts and thoughts affects behaviour-with an interplay of biology and emotions. I love how a child learns a language, and then the many languages after that. I love how NLP works. I love how we have no clue how language evolved and happily make predictions about the genetics of language.I love how culture plays a role in memory of the way a colour is interpreted.

Image

What I also do want to do is have job where I can read fiction, and literature commentaries and essays about these. Where I can read poetry and not apply it anywhere, except my experience of life. Where I can write poetry and fiction and about people and experiences and cultures. Where I can learn French and Persian at my own pace and not worry about what my CV looks like. Where I can understand Urdu poetry and make those sound Ghazal singers make with my epiglotis. Where I can watch movies and admire them for what they mean to me. Where I can love SRK in DDLJ without getting judged, and Darcy or Sirius Black. Where I can love people and things and experiences, and hate them at the same time.

Image

So, what is my dream job? I don’t know. Probably being the famous artist whose muse lives on. Or a thousand citations on my research paper. I wouldn’t know until I live it, I guess.

About TheBlackWallflower

I'm just your average unique person. I love to read and write (no surprises there, eh?) and think a lot. I adore Rowling and think Harry Potter should be a religion. I also hate pink. I love fluff generally because it makes me feel intelligent and I love poetry because it makes me feel different. (yes, references.) I'm married to Sirius Black. So I sign myself as The Bitch alarmingly often. Oh, and I love Mr. Darcy. And Jo Longo. And Chandler Bing. And Sherlock. (Yes, I'm a fantard.) And in case you want to drop in a good, or a critical word, feel free to email me: theblackwallflower@gmail.com OR, follow me on Twitter: @WallflowerBlack Enough with the babble. OkBye. View all posts by TheBlackWallflower

3 responses to “Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing

Leave a Reply

